Western Sahara

2 January 2000

Western Sahara is a territory of North Africa – one of the most sparsely populated
territories in the world, mainly consisting of desert flatlands. It has been on the United Nations
list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since the 1960s when it was a Spanish colony.
The Kingdom of Morocco and the Polisario Front independence movement (and government
of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic or SADR) dispute control of the territory.
Since a United Nations-sponsored ceasefire agreement in 1991, most of the territory
has been controlled by Morocco, with the remainder under the control of the Polisario / SADR.


Home / News / Western Sahara