New Executive Committee takes office 11 November 2018

13 November 2018

Freemuse is happy to welcome its new Executive Committee, which was democratically elected and voted in by Freemuse membership at its General Assembly held on Sunday 11 November 2018. The Executive Committee assumed its leadership role as of 18:15 on Sunday 11 November 2018 upon the close of the General Assembly and will carry for the next three years.

The incoming Executive Committee is Beatriz Hernandez de Fuhr, Brittis Edman, Gnanapragasam Devadass, Marie Gry Torup Ildvedsen and Miklos Marschall. Beatriz Hernandez de Fuhr and Marie Gry Torup Ildvedsen are acting as Interim Co-Chairpersons of the Executive Committee.

Freemuse would like to thank the commitment and support of all our members who stand with us to defend artistic freedom for all people around the world. We are excited about this new chapter for Freemuse and ensure that the organisation’s legacy will continue.

We would also like to thank the founding members of Freemuse for their commitment, as well as the outgoing Executive Committee for its long tenure with Freemuse, helping it grow to where it is today. We especially thank Professor Martin Cloonan, outgoing Executive Committee Chairperson, for his dedication and transformational leadership, whose contribution has been invaluable from the earlier years of Freemuse to the present time.

“It is an honour to have worked with a man with such vision, leadership and commitment. Without Martin, Freemuse would neither have come this far, nor be this strong and relevant. I wish him well and look forward to engaging with him in a different role,” Freemuse Executive Director Dr Srirak Plipat said.

Get to know our new Executive Committee:

Beatriz Hernandez de Fuhr (Interim Co-Chairperson) is an information specialist working with KVINFO, The Danish Centre for Information on Gender, Equality and Diversity, based in Copenhagen. Her primary focus is on the conception, development and implementation of multi-year initiatives and international partnerships addressing a range of gender and migration issues.  Prior to KVINFO, Beatriz served as Senior Deputy Director of exhibitions at Centro de Arte la Estancia, a Venezuelan-based Center for Design and Photography. 

Marie Gry Torup Ildvedsen (Interim Co-Chairperson) is a values-led international development professional with 10 years of operational experience from various development and post-conflict contexts primarily in Africa. Marie leans into her creativity in a bid to disrupt inequality and promote the rights of all peoples and achieve results through inherent qualities of empathy, hard-work and inclusivity. Currently Marie serves as CARE Denmark’s Programme Coordinator for Ghana, Mozambique, Innovation and Gender.

Brittis Edman is a professional human rights advocate with nearly 20 years of experience in advocacy, research, programme development and project management. She has shaped strategies and initiatives to improve human rights protection and promotion together with human rights defenders from a range of regions in the world in organisations including Amnesty International, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, Civil Rights Defenders and the OSCE.  Brittis is currently the Head of Policy at Amnesty International in Sweden.

Gnanapragasam Devadass (Gnanam) is an established Campaigns and Organisational Development professional with 30 years’ experience at the global, regional and national level. He has a wealth of experience in facilitation and use of participatory methods and approaches for the empowerment and engagement of members, supporters and partners. Previously he was the Deputy Director of Campaigns and Head of Activism and Youth Engagement at the International Secretariat of Amnesty International. He was the Executive Committee Member of Asian Forum for Human Rights and Development and the Executive of Director of Legal Resources for Social Action, an NGO in India.

Miklos Marschall is a founder and former executive director of CIVICUS: World Alliance for Citizen Participation, and former Deputy Managing Director and Regional Director for Europe for Transparency International; Former Deputy Mayor of Budapest, responsible for arts, culture and education; and Former Chair of the world top 10 symphony orchestra, the Budapest Festival orchestra. He has extensive experience in leadership, governance, transparency and civil society participation, and has sat on the boards of several international and Hungarian NGOs.

Home / News / New Executive Committee takes office 11 November 2018