Cameroon: Free-for-download album in support of Lapiro de Mbanga



Cameroon / France:
Free-for-download album in support of Lapiro de Mbanga

Mondomix has launched a free-for-download album in support of the imprisoned cameroonian singer Lapiro de Mbanga.

“This album compilation is no ordinary compilation,” writes Mondomix, a French online resource for worldwide music and culture. The album was produced by artists who want to inform about what is happening to Lapiro de Mbanga, the cameroonian singer who is sentenced to prison allegedly for political reasons.

Click here to download the album:

When the album is downloaded the “customer” automatically signs a petition for the release of Lapiro. Among the artists featured on the album are the famous congolese singer Lokua Kanza.

The album is published with a booklet which tells the story about Lapiro de Mbanga, and contains detailed information about the artists:

Lapiro’s reaction
Freemuse played an excerpt of the album for Lapiro over the telephone. He was absolutely astonished and sendt his regards to everyone who keeps his case “alive”.

Click to go to Mondomix's download page
The album

Click to see video
Video: See Lapiro’s comment on his situation in prison, and his cause

Click to sign petition
 Sign Freemuse’s

Track list

01 – Apkass – Les rêves d’un père pour son fils (inédit – unreleased) 4:10  
02 – Jawarit – Ecoute 4:56  
03 – Jr Eakee – La nuit où ils sont venus (inédit – unreleased) 2:50  
04 – Meiway – Le chant des martyrs (feat. Lokua Kanza) 5:04  
05 – News flash #1 (inédit – unreleased) 0:18  
06 – Nibs Van Der Spuy – Homeward bound (inédit – unreleased) 3:47  
07 – El Kapel – Home (inédit – unreleased) 2:57  
08 – News flash #2 (inédit – unreleased) 0:14  
09 – Rasboras – Ta’alya ahi (Fedayi Pacha’s Freedom Mix) (inédit – unreleased) 4:42  
10 – Selector Matanzas – Free-d-homme (Eluard mix) (inédit – unreleased) 4:39  
11 – Lapiro de Mbanga – Constitution constipée 7:30  

 Place a link to this page on your Facebook profile

Go to top
Related reading on

Albums with ‘objectionable material’ removed from Kansas libraries
The Kansas attorney general has withheld more than 1,600 compact discs from distribution to state libraries because officials determined the albums promote violence or illegal activity, records show.
The albums removed by Attorney General Phill Kline’s office were part of 51,000 discs given to Kansas as part of a nationwide settlement to resolve allegations of price fixing.
The CDs included recordings by 25 musicians, including rap artists such as OutKast and Notorious B.I.G., rock bands Rage Against the Machine and Stone Temple Pilots, and even older acts such as Lou Reed and the 1980s experimental group Devo.

Story from CNN